First Evangelical Free Church Congregational Meeting Minutes, February 14, 2021

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, this meeting took place both in person and online. Online sign in and voting were done via an online form in jotform. Ballots were anonymous.

Bob Richter, Acting Church Chairman, called the meeting to order, welcomed the new church members, and opened in prayer. Members present (in person and online) exceeded the 25% quorum (157). We have 627 voting members, 15 of which were added in 2020.

A motion was made and seconded to approve the 2020 Congregational Meeting minutes. Minutes were approved in person and online.

Finance Reports and 2021 Proposed Budget

Finance Committee

Kevin Krosley (Executive Pastor of Leadership Development & Operations), explained the voting process, which has changed slightly to accommodate online voting. He thanked the Finance Committee for their service; including Dave Stark and Dan Dunwiddie, who are rolling off of the committee this year. He also explained the role of the committee.

Budget

Kevin reviewed 2020 income and expenses and 2021 budget. The audit in 2020 showed no process issues. The 2021 budget reflects a reduction in pandemic impact compared to 2020, but does not return us to the 2019 level.

Kevin called for questions on the budget. No questions were raised online or in the room.

Proposed Amendment to the Statement of Faith

Bob shared the background purpose of the change. Our constitution requires two votes from the membership. The first vote was at the 2020 Annual Congregational Meeting. This is the second vote.

Bob called for questions. No questions were raised online or in the room.

Election of Elders, Deacons, and Nominating Committee

Dave Berndt, the Nominating Committee Chair, thanked the 2020 Nominating Committee members and explained the nomination process. He then introduced the candidates for church leadership and solicited questions:

Elders: Jeff Estes, Bill Peskorse, Martin Truong, Todd Yeager, Bruce Eckhardt (2nd term) **Deacons:** Gayle Darby, Wei Wu, Dean Wimpfheimer (2nd term) **Nominating Committee:** Susan Andrews, Scott Garland, Carol Yeager

No questions were raised online or in the room.

Voting

In the room, members submitted a single ballot with all candidates and motions. Online, members voted anonymously via an online form.

The vote was called and ballots were collected.

Senior Pastor Report

Adam Bowers shared some of the happenings in 2020. We have found ways to connect and give despite obstacles and uncertainty. We continue to prioritize biblical truth over personal preferences and convictions. Despite the turmoil around us, God has preserved us and isn't finished with us yet. Adam reminded us we are a kingdom outpost, bringing God's truth to our community and the world.

Elder Report

Doug Pogue, Elder Chairman, spoke about the shifts and changes that the board navigated in 2020. We have learned that we aren't in control, but God is. We leaned less on our own skills and drew closer to God. We saw God's faithfulness.

Doug also reminded us of the value of community and connection, and shared some examples that encouraged him this year. He thanked the staff for the adjustments that they made to keep ministry going.

Deacon Report

JD Long, filling in for Dean Wimpfheimer (Deacon Chairman), encouraged the congregation and especially members to find a place to serve. He also shared the role of the Deacon Board and some of the ways they served our congregation and community in 2020.

Other Business

Voting results were confirmed by the Deacons. 197 members were reported present (111 online, 86 in person)t; 192 ballots were cast (108 online, 84 in person). All nominees and motions were approved by more than 90% of the members present.

Bob Richter made a request for other business.

A motion was made and seconded to adjourn.

Bob Richter closed in prayer.

Respectfully submitted, Heather Wright, Church Clerk